About Us

About the Wolf Laurel Community

Wolf Laurel is a private, gated, mountain community of over 5,000 acres, located 30 miles north of Asheville, NC on I-26.  Sitting on one of the areas highest ridges with elevations rising to 5,000 feet, beautiful views abound within the community.   Development of Wolf Laurel began in 1965 and there are currently 750 residential units on the mountain, including single family homes, condos, villas, and town homes.

The Appalachian Trail runs through Wolf Laurel, inviting the residents and visitors to take advantage of the area’s natural amenities.  For more resort-style activities, membership is available to the golf course, dining and fitness center offered by the Wolf Laurel Country Club, or the swimming and Village Club amenities offered by the Wolf Laurel Property Owners Association.

Mission Statement

The Wolf Laurel Road Maintenance and Security Homeowners’ Association (WLRMS) is responsible for safeguarding and improving the roads, security, safety, infrastructure, neighborhood architectural standards, natural resources and quality of life of its property owners. WLRMS Officers, Board and Committee Members, and Staff, accept this responsibility, and pledge to continue to discharge their duties for the Wolf Laurel community with a robust and renewed commitment to integrity, fiscal responsibility and transparency.

ByLaws & Amendments

Click here to access the documents on ByLaws and Amendments.

The Board of Directors of WLRMS

The WLRMS has a nine member board, with each board member serving for three years.  An election is held each year in which the property owners vote to elect three board members.  The Board has established eight Standing Committees (detailed below) and encourages property owner participation in the committees.  For more information on how to serve, please contact the individual committee Chairperson.   To read a brief biography about each current Director, click on their name.


Cynthia Kessler, Secretary

Carol Krueger

Brent McCaghren, Vice-President
Dick Moeller, Treasurer
David Pendleton
Willie Romero
Ed Shook
Jim Simmons
Larry Smith, President

WLRMS Standing Committees

These committees have been established by the Board of Directors:

Architectural Review Committee

Chair:  Stephen McKnight
Members:  Jim Deloatch, Michael Whitt, Jeffrey Barker

Communications & Community Relations Committee

Chair:  Larry Smith
Members:  Jim Simmons, Carol Krueger, Cynthia Kessler

Facilities and Real Property Committee

Co-Chairs: Dick Moeller and Jim Simmons

Finance/Insurance Committee

Co-Chairs:  Dick Moeller and David Pendleton
Members:  Willie Romero, Jim Simmons, Carol Krueger

Legal Committee

Co-Chairs: Brent McCaghren and Cynthia Kessler

Long Range Planning Committee

Co-Chairs: Larry Smith and Cynthia Kessler
Members:  Eddie Shook, Jim Simmons

Road Maintenance and Equipment Purchase and Repair Committee

Chair: Jim Simmons
Members:  Eddie Shook, Mike Kaney, Steve Rutherford, Jason Brown, Ron Coppenbarger, Bob Walker

Security Committee

Chair: Carol Krueger
Members:  Becky McKnight, Lewis Daniels, Eddie Shook

WLPOA Liaison:

Larry Smith